How to Take your Jotter from Zero to Hero

Hello and welcome to my tutorial of how to make any plain jotter look incredible with just a splash of #colour… (It’s kinda my thing)

This tutorial is not only, great for cool adults like me πŸ˜‰ it’s quick, simple and great for kids too! Tweet me pictures of your finished notepads here…

Life in CMYK blue notepadΒ Β Life in CMYK blue notepad Life in CMYK blue notepad Life in CMYK blue notepad

I started with these tool:

  • A plain notebook/jotter/whatever you want to call the thing you write in
  • A sharp pencil
  • An eraser
  • A variety of different shaped paint brushes (however many you like)
  • A black felt tip pen or any colour you prefer
  • A ruler… here i used a geometric square because i couldn’t find my ruler
  • Poster paint in a colour of your choice. I thought about using yellow, that will look cool too!

Life in CMYK blue notepad Life in CMYK blue notepad

1. The first thing I did was draw on some guidelines for the title with the ruler and pencil and sketched a design. Then I traced the type with the black felt tip. I liked the way a box around the text looked as well, so added that after.

Life in CMYK blue notepad Life in CMYK blue notepad Life in CMYK blue notepadΒ Β Life in CMYK blue notepadLife in CMYK blue notepad

 

 

2. After you have finished your felt tip text, make sure it is firstly dry, and then rub away the excess pencil guidelines and text. (I am here using my ‘North Yorkshire Moors Rubber from my year 4 eraser collection… Oh Yeah!) This will reveal your text as below… So pretty!!

Life in CMYK blue notepad

3. The next bit can get messy so watch out for surfaces you don’t want to ruin. Take your paintbrushes (and a deep breath) and mark-make away…. You can use a ruler for guidance to keep straight lines but i just tried to keep the jotter flat and keep looking up at the big picture to make sure you keep as in-line as possible.

Life in CMYK blue notepad Life in CMYK blue notepad Life in CMYK blue notepad

4. Try to make every line as detailed and different as possible and just keep going, swapping straight brushes for round ones every so often.

Life in CMYK blue notepad Life in CMYK blue notepad

5. It’s up to you when you stop, but after a while you’ll have the filled the whole page and VOILA! A beautiful, none-boring notepad!

Life in CMYK blue notepad Life in CMYK blue notepadΒ Β Life in CMYK blue notepad Life in CMYK blue notepad Life in CMYK blue notepadΒ Β Life in CMYK blue notepadΒ Β Life in CMYK blue notepad

 

I would love to see your notepads. Feel free to tweet me them @lifeincmyk and I will TOTALLY RETWEET. Want to see more of my photography? Catch me on instagram.

Enjoy your crafternoons and don’t forget to fill out my poll below!

Life in CMYK aka Eleanor Fay Nicholson x

5 thoughts on “How to Take your Jotter from Zero to Hero

Comments

