The Colours of The Oscars 2014

If we’re talking colours, which I am, there was one absolute winner for me as a colour trend blogger! Lupita, Lupita, Lupita, AMAZING! Kelly Osbourne named this colour ‘Nairobi Blue’ when she saw it on the red carpet program, which I had to watch sneakily on E! television channel when everybody else in my household had gone to bed. They don’t appreciate the walk, walk, fashion baby like I do darlings (HA).

On a serious note!, this Prada dress, in sky blue, on her skin, is nothing but a winning combo. At first I wasn’t sure about the alice band but then on imagining the styling without it, it totally makes sense.

Lupita Nyong'o in Prada Oscars 2014

And would you believe the colour choice is straight out of the Pantone Spring Palette for 2014! Under the name of ‘Placid Blue’ this colour is absolutely one of my faves this Spring! Loving pastels.

placid-blue-swatch

Coming on to the inevitable ‘Cayenne Red’ gowns of the Oscars red carpet. It is unknown for the event to go down without at least half a dozen dresses in the fiery hue. Here are my faves. Kim Kardashian in Celia Kritharioti and Jennifer Lawrence in Dior. Stunning.

Kim Kardashian in Celia Kritharioti Oscars 2014 Jennifer Lawrence in Dior Oscars 2014   

The colour of these gowns is definitely more vivid than the red hue suggested by the Pantone fashion forecast but what else can you expect from stars who want to stand out and not blend into the carpet itself.

cayenne-swatch

One of the colours that shone unexpectedly on the Oscars Red Carpet 2014 was this vibrant yet moody shade of navy blue. Both Sandra Bullock in Alexander McQueen and Amy Adams in Gucci were clad in a darker tone of what Pantone expected to see this Spring. I mean, I love it girls, but couldn’t you have worn something a bit more exciting… Its the Oscars. Boo.

Sandra Bullock in Alexander McQueen Oscars 2014 Amy Adams in Gucci Oscars 2014

Pantone were expecting something a little more the shade below… Dazzling Blue. To check out my collection of all things Dazzling, take a look at my Pinterest board for it. All of my boards are arranged by colour for my lovely readers to explore!!

7b4c4d6e2f26ef0265eaf3487153f2b6

No for my final colour review on the Oscars, I have saved my personal favourite to last. This colour absolutely crept up on me, it is not a colour with the greatest connotations and so usually has a hard time shining HOWEVER (and thats a big however) the colour named ‘Sand’ or almost nude is making a massive comeback and I am ALL FOR IT. It’s ‘dress me like I’m naked’ time. WAHOOO.

Cate Blanchett in Armani Prive Oscars 2014 Jessica Biel in Chanel Oscars 2014

Naomi Watts in Calvin Klein Oscars 2014 Angelina Jolie in Elie Saab Oscars 2014

Angelina Jolie in Elie Saab, Cate Blanchett in Armani Prive, Jessica Biel in Chanel and Naomi Watts in Calvin Klein all get a whopping 5 STARS from me. I love it.

Not bad for a colour thats barely there ; )

pantone-sand

To see all of the colours in Pantone’s Spring Palette click here!

Thanks for reading!

Eleanor Fay Nicholson AKA Life in CMYK x

Comments

