2014 Colour of the Year – Radiant Orchid

So this is it; the colour us consumers will be seeing plastered on our interiors, in our graphic design magazines and our favourite high street fashion stores. To be completely honest, I totally got rid of lilac from my life when I was 13. I was totally over the little-girl theme in my bedroom (which happened to be lilac polka dots and dogs – nice!) and moved to a more IOS 7 themed colour scheme of brights.
But now… Are we moving back to a world where pastels rule? At the minute, for me this might be true! I’m starting to introduce myself back to these sorts of palettes through pastel hair, nails and fluffy jumpers. All of which I am truthfully obsessed with.
Let me show you…
purple pastel hair
purple pastel nailspastel purple knit jumper
Official images taken from the Pantone website show how they expect fashionistas and interior designers to interpret radiant orchid. Although I almost agree with the chosen colour of the year, I DO NOT agree with pantone’s attempt to apply the 2014 shade of purple to the fashion world. For me, they are just proving that they should just stick to what they know; colour management. This woman honestly looks like she is from the bad part of the 90s. Pantone are alienating themselves from any kind of cool, hip person… not smart.
radiant orchid fashion
Same goes for Pantone official imagery for applying radiant orchid to interiorsWHAT were they thinking?! If you are trying to sell the idea of your brand’s own colour of the year to the world and basically trying to boost your brand and make millions of pounds… you do not… DO NOT sell it like this.
radiant orchid interior
I love you Pantone… but please… try to improve your application imagery game. YOUR’E JUST NOT BEING COOL.
These on the other hand… I like.
radiant orchid 2
I do a lot of this kind of colour stuff in my own gallery… Check it out here, on my Instagram
Radiant orchid collage
“Since 2000, the Pantone Color Institute™ has been designating a Color of the Year to express in color what is taking place in the global zeitgeist. A color that will resonate around the world, the PANTONE Color of the Year is a reflection of what people are looking for, what they feel they need that color can help to answer. Not necessarily the hot fashion color of the moment, but a color crossing all areas of design which is an expression of a mood, an attitude, on the part of the consumers.
 
The color for 2014?  The captivating, magical and enchanting Radiant Orchid. An invitation to innovation, modern and versatile Radiant Orchid encourages creativity and originality. Imbued with a harmony of fuchsia, purple and pink undertones, Radiant Orchid inspires confidence and its rosy undertones emanate great joy, love and health.”
Alternatively… Be cool and add me on twitter or view and follow me on pinterest where my boards are set out by colour so you don’t have to look at just this one, you can choose your fave colour from the whole 2014 spring palette.
Thank you for reading my blog, I know it’s an extra long one -totally not me- but you bared with it. Thank you and if you think it’s worth sharing, please do! 
Eleanor Fay Nicholson aka Life in CMYK x

7 thoughts on “2014 Colour of the Year – Radiant Orchid

  1. Pingback: The Colours of Spring 2014 | Life in CMYK

Comments

